Understanding archived teams in Canva
Why was my team archived?
When you’re added to a managed team within your organisation, any unmanaged teams you owned may be archived to keep everything in a secure, organisation-managed space. This ensures better collaboration, shared resources, and company-wide security.
Which teams will be archived when I’m added to a managed team?
The following teams qualify for archival:
- Solo and multi-user teams: Any Canva Free, Pro, or Teams plan.
- Free or paid teams: Teams with a Canva subscription that was not purchased via the App Store or Google Play.
How do I switch between my archived team and my organisation-managed team?
How do I switch between my archived team and my organisation-managed team?
- From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
- Select Teams. From there, you can switch between organisation-managed teams and archived teams.
- Archived teams are marked with an Archived label.
Can I still access content in my archived teams?
Yes! You can still view and download past designs from your archived team. However, you won’t be able to:
- Create new designs
- Edit existing designs
- Share content
- Comment on existing designs
If you need to continue working on your designs, you can copy them to your organisation-managed team.
How to copy your previous content to your organisation-managed team
Bulk copy all content
If your organisation admin has enabled this feature, you’ll be prompted to copy all your content to the organisation-managed team when switching into an archived team.
You can choose:
- Copy all content to the new team immediately
- Maybe later if you need more time
If you select Maybe later, you can still bulk copy your content anytime.
- Switch into your archived team.
- Look for the Keep designing card in the team menu.
- Select Get started to begin copying.
We’ll send email and in-app notifications to keep you updated on the status of your copied content, which will be stored in your Projects folder.
Copy selected content
If you only want to copy specific files rather than all content, follow the steps in Copy designs or files to another team or account.
What types of content can be copied?
You can copy:
- Designs
- Folders
- Brand templates (as designs)
- Websites (as designs)
- Media
- Videos
You cannot currently copy:
- Apps
- Published websites
- Fonts
- Audio
- Orders and invoices
- Comments
- Who it's shared with (You’ll need to re-share files manually)
- Brand kits
- Brand templates
Can’t copy content?
Check with your organisation admin to see if they’ve allowed incoming content transfers for team members.
Why can I only download content?
In some cases, you may only be able to download designs from your archived team. This is because permissions may be set to not allow content copying. You can reach out to the team admin to resolve this.
I have a paid Canva subscription. Will I get a refund if my account is managed by my organisation and my team is archived?
Yes! If you had a paid subscription, we’ll issue a pro-rated refund once you’re added to the organisation team and your content is archived.
Can I undo the archival of my team if I miss switching to a personal email?
If you didn’t switch your email in time and your team was archived, first reach out to your admin. If they approve, they can contact our Support team to request that your team be restored.
What happens if I leave the organisation?
If you leave the organisation, you'll no longer have an account, so you won’t have access to the archived team.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful