Archive teams in Canva
Use Canva’s consolidation tools to archive teams previously created by your members when they become managed by your organisation.
This article is intended for Canva admins managing organization settings. If you're a Canva user wondering what happened to your team or how to copy your content, check out Understanding archived teams in Canva.
What is team archiving?
Team archiving is part of Canva’s suite of advanced consolidation tools for Enterprise customers.
When someone signs up for Canva independently using their work email, they typically create a personal (solo) team or own other teams outside of the organisation’s control. These unmanaged teams often contain work-related designs.
Once the member is affiliated with your Enterprise account and added to an organisation-managed team, their eligible unmanaged teams can be automatically archived. Members will be prompted to copy their content into the organisation-managed team (if permissions allow).
Why it matters
This feature ensures that:
- When members' teams are archived, they transition from creating content in unmanaged teams to working within official organisation-managed teams. This gives admins better oversight and control.
- They can quickly resume work with minimal disruption, using copied content from their previous team (if permissions allow).
- Future work happens in a secure, collaborative environment with the right tools and oversight.
How it works
- When an organisation admin enables team archival, all eligible unmanaged teams owned by existing managed users are archived. Going forward, any affiliated user who joins an organisation-managed team will have any eligible unmanaged teams they own archived automatically.
- All members, regardless of whether they are affiliated or not, will retain access to their content, but can no longer create, edit, or share within the archived team.
- If your team permissions allow incoming copied content, users can easily bulk copy all their content into the organisation-managed team.
What the user experience looks like
- Once they join your organisation-managed team, members will be notified via email and in-product about their teams being archived.
- They can switch to impacted archived teams by selecting their account profile, then selecting the team from the menu.
- Archived teams will have an Archived label next to them in the menu.
- Once they switch to an archived team, members will be notified in-product that the team is now archived, and guided to copy content to an organisation-managed team (if permissions allow).
How do I enable team archiving?
As an organisation admin, you can enable or disable this setting. To turn it on:
- From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
- Select Settings.
- Select SSO and provisioning.
- Select Teams.
- Turn on the Archive unmanaged teams on your domains toggle. Other organisation admins can turn this off at any time.
Note: Turning team archival off won’t reverse any past archiving or undo subscription refunds; it only prevents future archiving.
Which teams can be archived?
A team qualifies for archiving if it meets all the following criteria:
- It isn't subscribed via the App Store or Google Play (team owners must cancel mobile subscriptions themselves).
- It’s owned by a member who’s affiliated with your organisation and has joined an organisation-managed team.
How do I check permissions to allow content copy?
To confirm whether your organisation-managed team allows incoming copied content:
- From the homepage, select your Profile icon.
- Select Settings.
- Select Permissions.
- Under Import Content, review "Who can accept copied content from another team?"
- Set this according to your preference from the dropdown.
What if a member had a paid subscription on their archived team?
If a team is archived and the member joins an organisation-managed team, Canva will issue a pro-rated refund for any remaining time on their previous subscription.
Can I turn off team archiving?
Yes, as long as you are an organisation admin, you can turn off team archiving. However, this does not unarchive any previously archived teams and will not cancel any refunds that may have occurred. It only prevents future managed members’ teams from being archived.
What content can be copied?
Supported | Not supported |
Designs Folders Brand templates (copied as designs) Websites (as designs) Media Videos | Apps Published websites Fonts Audio Orders and invoices Comments Who it's shared with (You’ll need to re-share files manually) Brand kits |
Can an archived team be restored?
Yes. If needed and approved by an organisation admin, you can contact our Support team to get help restoring a previously archived team.
What if my members have joined teams outside of my organisation?
We also offer removal from external teams as part of our suite of consolidation tools.
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful